Race Report and Results – R17 – Drake Blvd

Round 17 of the Footscray Cycling Club’s racing saw riders contest criteriums at Drake Boulevard in Altona; the day’s racing taking place under sunny skies and light winds.

In A-Grade, ANU guest rider Andrew McAuley took the sprint win after quite a few riders attempted breakaways. ‘Everything was chased down, so I just waited for the sprint, which suited me just fine.’ McAuley took the sprint from Matty Heath and Andy Bonello.

B-Grade decided that it would be a fast paced race, with a whole heap of riders hammering on the front or trying their luck in all manner of breaks. The last 3 laps saw various riders fly off the front in twos and threes, then came the strung out chase-downs and the scramble to make it to the finish; one rider who attacked at the perfect time was Simon Whelan, the expat Irishman timing his run for the line to perfection, just overtaking Shane Ward and Daniel Standen prior to the line.

In C-Grade, Craig taylor took a very strong and controlled sprint win from Alan Palser and Simon Perryman, and in D-Grade, Daniel Atkins took the win from Anthony Gercovich and Nicholas Skarajew.

A: 1st Andrew McAuley (ANU), 2nd Matthew Heath, 3rd Andrew Bonello, 4th Jason Costin.
B: 1st Simon Whelan, 2nd Shane Ward, 3rd Daniel Standen (Sunb), 4th David Walker.
C: 1st Craig Taylor, 2nd Alan Palser, 3rd Simon Perryman, 4th Thomas Rebesco.
D: 1st Daniel Atkins, 2nd Anthony Gercovich, 3rd Nicholas Skarajew (STK), 4th Bob Shannon.

Posted in news, Race Reports.