Race Report and Results – R16 – VU

Round 16 of the Footscray Cycling Club’s 2015/6 Criterium season was held out at the Victoria University track out at Hoppers Crossing, with Wednesday night’s racing being held in windy and cool conditions.


In the A-Grade race, current club champ Dom Dudkiewicz continued his insane run of wins with an early break with powerhouse Trav Small; the pair clearing off from the bunch who looked like a bomb had been dropped on them after about 10 minutes. The race was also marred by Vito Depetro clipping Ben O’Leary’s wheel and taking a tumble as he came onto the main straight, but escaping with only a little missing bark. Some are saying Ben did it deliberately to shut Vito up!

In B-Grade, Sam Edmund made it four dominant wins in the first 4 races of his racing life; the ex-footy player and runner just taking off in a solo break that saw him finish well clear of the field, with Matty Johnson taking the bunch sprint for second.

C-Grade’s race was taken by Callum Brown from Rory Wilson who are both showing some excellent form of late, and in D-Grade, Phil Krajewski took the win from Cam Godwin.

A: Dom Dudkiewicz, Travis Small, Paul Kenny, Rod Stormonth, Ben O’Leary.
B: Sam Edmund, Matt Johnson, Brett Manning, Mark Micallef, Michael Dam.
C: Callum Brown, Rory Wilson, Matt Strachan, Seb Chetcuti.
D: Phil Krajewski, Cam Godwin, Dennis Hobbs, Steve Biggs, Sarah Dam.

Posted in news.