Race Report and Results – R11

Saturday morning’s Round 11 racing saw the FCC again out at VU, with a strong and chilly Southerly blowing, many riders found themselves getting shelled.

A Grade riders Dom Dudkiewicz and Miles DaCosta broke away after 20 minutes, Dom taking the win from Miles after attacking with a few laps to go, with Paul Kenny taking the bunch sprint behind.

In B-Grade, a small bunch began the windy race, which was characterized by continual attacks from Australian Defence Forces rider Martin Lewis, whittling the number of riders down to 5 within 20 minutes. Try as he may, Lewis could not drop 51 year old teacher Mark Micallef, who then attacked on the second last corner and managed to hold it all the way to the line, taking the win from Matthew Johnson and Vito Depetro.

In C-Grade, Cam Mcfarlane brought a few of his teenage prodigies over from Brunswick and the lads mixed it with a few FCC youngsters, as well as one elderly gentleman who just kept attacking and attacking the bunch (No names Phil). In the end it came down to a sprint, with Sam Warren beating home Graeme Frislie, Thomas Rebesco and Seb Chetcuti, whose 4 combined ages would probably not add up to PT’s age!

D Grade set a cracking pace, with the bunch working hard swapping turns, in the end the bunch sprint was taken by Pt Cook resident James Stuart, from Garry day in second and new rider Dan Atkins in third.

A: 1st Dominik Dudkiewicz, 2nd Miles DaCosta, 3rd Paul Kenny, 4th Travis Small, 5th Jason Costin.
B: 1st Mark Micallef, 2nd Matthew Johnson, 3rd Vito DePetro, 4th Martin Lewis (ADCC), 5th David Walker.
C: 1st Sam Warren, 2nd Graeme Frislie, 3rd Thomas Rebesco, 4th Seb Chetcuti, 5th James Bell.
D: 1st James Stuart, 2nd Garry Day, 3rd Dan Atkins, 4th Tom Moloney.

Posted in news, Race Reports.