Race Report and Results – FCC Criteriums – R24

Footscray Cycling Club Criteriums @ V.U.T, Wed Jan 20 2016.
Very brief report on Wednesday night’s crits. Light winds and nice night, D rolled around and had an entertaining sprint, with Michael Hazeldine pipping Rickard Parker and that old fox Dennis ‘The Menace’ Hobbs.

C-Grade was smashed to bits in no time flat when all these strong young fellers decided to flex their muscles and lap the bunch, with Rory Wilson, Andreas Mavridis and Luke Morrison riding very very strongly to clean up.

B-Grade saw uncle Phil Tehan throw in his usual attacks, but ‘twas a bunch sprint at the end, with just up from C Matty ‘Tatts’ Strachan taking the sprint with some serious speed from a fading but gutsy Thomas Rebesco and Matty Johnson who went a tad too early and also ran out of puff in the last 50 meters.

A-Grade saw Travis ‘Schwartzenegger’ Small pummel a small bunch at the front and before too long there were 3 riders in the lead bunch (Small, regular visitor Peter Robertson from Brunswick and Andy Bonello) and 3 in the following bunch (Mark Micallef, David Newett and Marcus Nyeholt). Then Trav had obviously decided he wasn’t going to risk a sprint with Bonello and Robbo, so he hit them with a few surges until they busted up, Trav taking the win clear of Robertson who was clear of Bonello, making commisaire Dave Danson’s job all the more easy.

D Grade
Michael Hazeldine, Richard Parker, Dennis Hobbs, Steven Biggs

C Grade
Rory Wilson, Andreas Mavridis, Luke Morrison BCC, Joshua Grieve GCC

B Grade
Matt Strachan, Thomas Rebesco, Matthew Johnson, Anthony Rebesco.

A Grade
Travis Small, Peter Robertson BCC, Andrew Bonello, Mark Micallef

Posted in news, Race Reports.