Footscray Cycling Club Salter Memorial Handicap, May 1, 2016.

Footscray Cycling Club Salter Memorial Handicap, May 1, 2016.

Braving blustery Westerly winds and wet roads for 80 kilometers of racing around the notorious Kirksbridge circuit, riders set off to contest the Footscray Cycling Club’s Salter Memorial graded scratch races; with lots of riders getting shelled in the testing conditions.

A-Grade saw a small bunch of 8 riders set off on the 4 lap race; although the scrappy condition of the rain soaked roads led to 3 riders unable to finish the race with punctures. On the last lap, Dom Dudkiewicz and Miles DaCosta were clear of the chasers; and with DaCosta unable to stay with Dudkiewicz, A Grade finished as a lonely series of single riders crossing the line; Dudkiewicz taking the win ahead of DaCosta in second place and Travis Small in third.

B-Grade saw a field of 12 riders set off, again a bit of gutter action in the crosswinds and high pace-making leading to several riders going off the back of the bunch; gun veteran Anthony Rebesco taking the win ahead of the very in-form Josh Ryan in second and Glen Wright taking a very strong third place.

C-Grade saw David Walker take the win by rolling the dice and trying his luck with a late race breakaway; with many of the 16 starters shelled along the way, Walker broke with a kilometre to go, building a small but valuable lead on the chasers. Behind him and chasing hard were John Boyle and Colin Morris, but Walker maintained his lead by staying calm and riding tempo, finishing clear of Boyle in second and Morris in third.

D-Grade saw first time racer David Mattner take the win on a trying day over veteran rider David Procak, with the ever-improving Michael Scragg in third place.

A- 1st Dominik Dudkiewicz, 2nd Miles DaCosta, 3rd Travis Small, 4th Ben O’Leary.
B- 1st Anthony Rebesco, 2nd Josh Ryan, 3rd Glen Wright, 4th Graeme Cole, 5th Glen Grbesa.
C- 1st David Walker, 2nd John Boyle, 3rd Colin Morris, 4th Steve Maher, 5th Mick Starcevic.
D- 1st David Mattner, 2nd David Procak, 3rd Michael Scragg, 4th James Stuart, 5th Barry Cram.
(photo courtesy of Claire Radbourne)

Posted in news, Race Reports.