Footscray Cycling Club Graded Scratch Races

Round 7 of the Footscray Cycling Club’s 2016 Winter Road Season saw riders head out to Balliang in the Brisbane Ranges, with riders going over the top of the notorious Granite Road in cold and wet and conditions.
A-Grade saw Travis Small take his first ever A-Grade road win with a strong sprint. The race started off calmly, with some minimal attacks in the first three laps, until Miles DaCosta attacked hard coming through Staughton Vale to give him & Small a gap from the peloton who worked hard to bring the break back before the first climb. When the bunch hit the Granite Road climb, Jason Costin, DaCosta and Small got away & worked hard together to keep the chase group away; the workrate taking its toll on Costin who fell away, leaving the duo to do the work together all the way around Balliang until it was time to sprint. With 300 meters to go, Small attacked DaCosta, winning the sprint by a bike length.

In B-Grade, Ben O’Leary had a return to form when he took the win from Geoff Robertson and Paul Rettke, and in C-Grade, young Hamish Munro got into the winning break and took the sprint from Connor Rate and Ado Barker.

D-Grade’s race saw Alastair Delooze take his last win in D and move up to C, with veteran Dennis Hobbs taking second and Steven Biggs in third.

A: 1st Travis Small, 2nd Miles DaCosta, 3rd Andrew Bonello, 4th Shane Ward.
B: 1st Ben O’Leary 2nd Geoff Robertson, 3rd Paul Rettke, 4th Robert Stocker.
C: 1st Hamish Munro, 2nd Connor Rate, 3rd Ado Barker, 4th Damian Laing, 5th George Goodrope.
D: 1st Alastair Delooze, 2nd Dennis Hobbs, 3rd Steven Biggs, 4th Sarah Dobie.

Posted in headlines, Race Reports.