58th Annual Footscray Cycling Club Tour

Here it is, the official program for the 58th Annual Footscray Cycling Club Tour. We’re really looking forward to an exciting weekend of racing.

You can still enter the race (Red Race Entries Button). Obviously we can’t fit you in the program as it’s already been sent to the printers.

We’re also short on volunteers for the event especially on Stage 2. If you haven’t picked your 2 duties, now is definitely the time to do so. Or if can spare a few hours or can bring a volunteer it would be much appreciated.  Register via ROSTER NOMINATIONS button on the website or txt/call Vito 0408 147 709.

FCC Tour Program 2016

Footscray Cycling Club Graded Scratch Races

Round 7 of the Footscray Cycling Club’s 2016 Winter Road Season saw riders head out to Balliang in the Brisbane Ranges, with riders going over the top of the notorious Granite Road in cold and wet and conditions.
A-Grade saw Travis Small take his first ever A-Grade road win with a strong sprint. The race started off calmly, with some minimal attacks in the first three laps, until Miles DaCosta attacked hard coming through Staughton Vale to give him & Small a gap from the peloton who worked hard to bring the break back before the first climb. When the bunch hit the Granite Road climb, Jason Costin, DaCosta and Small got away & worked hard together to keep the chase group away; the workrate taking its toll on Costin who fell away, leaving the duo to do the work together all the way around Balliang until it was time to sprint. With 300 meters to go, Small attacked DaCosta, winning the sprint by a bike length.

In B-Grade, Ben O’Leary had a return to form when he took the win from Geoff Robertson and Paul Rettke, and in C-Grade, young Hamish Munro got into the winning break and took the sprint from Connor Rate and Ado Barker.

D-Grade’s race saw Alastair Delooze take his last win in D and move up to C, with veteran Dennis Hobbs taking second and Steven Biggs in third.

A: 1st Travis Small, 2nd Miles DaCosta, 3rd Andrew Bonello, 4th Shane Ward.
B: 1st Ben O’Leary 2nd Geoff Robertson, 3rd Paul Rettke, 4th Robert Stocker.
C: 1st Hamish Munro, 2nd Connor Rate, 3rd Ado Barker, 4th Damian Laing, 5th George Goodrope.
D: 1st Alastair Delooze, 2nd Dennis Hobbs, 3rd Steven Biggs, 4th Sarah Dobie.

Bob Robson Memorial Update and Program.

The Main Race will now be A and B grades and the support race for C grade (D grade riders please note that there will NOT be a separate D grade race. Therefore, you will be riding the Support race with C grade riders. This is not meant to discourage you from riding. Just be warned as to what to expect).

For all the B graders, note the change in start time. Your race will now start at 2:30PM

An official start list and program can be found here (Bob Robson Memorial Program).

Online entries are closed, but we’ll be taking entries on the day as well so don’t miss out. The weather is looking great and it’s going to be an exciting day of racing out in Williamstown.

Presentations after the racing at 4:00PM (Williamstown RSL). Food is provided and ample space to park your bike. All Riders, volunteers, family and spectators are encouraged to attend.

Bob Robson Memorial

Entries are now open to our ANZAC Day Criterium, the Bob Robson Memorial.

Racing kicks off with the support race at 1:30PM and the Main Race at 2:30PM. Presentations will be held at the Williamstown RSL at 4:00PM all placegetters must attend and we strongly encourage all riders, family (kids included), friends and spectators to come along as well. Food will be provided (BBQ lunch).

Enter now via Entry Boss – https://entryboss.cc/races/125


The race is named and run in honour of the late Bob Robson, who was a foundation member of the Williamstown RSL Club and the Williamstown Cycling Club.

Robson was a well known and popular figure in Williamstown until his death in 1959. He owned and operated the Seagull Cycles shop on Ferguson Street, which was popular among cyclists.

The Bob Robson Memorial has formed part of the RSL Club’s Anzac Day celebrations since 1960.

A who’s who of Australian champions have won the famous race, including the legendary Peter Besanko, Don Allan, David Allan and John Bylsma.

Race is proudly supported by the Robson Family, the Williamstown RSL, Hobsons Bay City Council and the Westgate Community Road Safety Council.

Frank O’Brien Memorial (The last one ever!)

Entries are now open to our first handicap of the season the Frank O’Brien Memorial next sunday.

To give enough time for the handicappers to put together the bunches, entries will close on Thursday 14-Apr-2016 at 9:00PM

Online entries only, if you have any issues contact fcc@footscraycc.com.au

https://entryboss.cc/races/124 or use Red Race button on the right.

Footscray Cycling Club AGM

In accordance with its Constitution, the FOOTSCRAY CYCLING CLUB INC will be holding its ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING on Sunday April 17th at the LITTLE RIVER CRICKET CLUB.
The AGM will be held IMMEDIATELY AFTER the O’Brien Memorial Race, and will only take 30 minutes.

We want as many members as possible there, as we are voting on ALL CLUB POSITIONS (Except Club Secretary which is due 2017).
Be part of your Club’s decision making process, be at the AGM!

FCC AGM April 2016 Agenda

FCC AGM April 2015 Minutes