AGM Report 2018

The Footscray Cycling Club’s AGM was held at the Balliang Hall on Sunday 6 May, and to quote Women’s Officer Karen Lechner, ‘An AGM shouldn’t bring people to tears!’ The Club, established in 1894, chose to make me a Life Member, nominated by my mentor, Life Member Phillip Tehan, and Club Legend (and Melb-Warny Superman) Frank Zanatta. To say I am honoured is an understatement. The Club is massively important to me, which is why I am committed to being its Secretary, and seeing it move from strength to strength. The wonderful challenges this Club has afforded me, both on and off the bike; the friendships, the camaraderie, the purpose. I am, and always will be, loyal to my club, the mighty Footscray Cycling Club. The cherry on top? To play a part in honouring a great servant of the Club, Mark Zanatta, in deservedly becoming only the Club’s 4th ever Legend, was also something wonderful. To see his father, Frankie, present his son with the highest honour the Club can bestow… well there was not a dry eye in the house.
The existing Executive Committee were also largely re-elected for another year; President Miles Dacosta, Vice President Graham Wilson, Treasurer Murray Jenkins, Secretary Mark Micallef and Executive Members (new David Lane –welcome!), Mark Zanatta, Michael Dam, Bernie O’Sullivan, William Hamilton, David Walker, Shane McGuirk, Greg Lane, James Bell, Michael Hazeldine, Karen Lechner, Vito Depetro, and there for his wisdom and rapier-like wit, Frank Zanatta!
In addition to the committee, a number of members carry out vital operational roles for the club, and we would be remiss if we didn’t acknowledge and thank them. They include: Chief Commissaire (ahem, LEGEND!!) Mark Zanatta (whose car and house are filled to the brim with our stuff, and whose life is dominated by working hard to keep the Club running), Commissaires Stephen Michetti, David Danson, Laurie Norris & Ross Liley (don’t argue with these characters!), Entries/Eventarc Michael Dam (ably assisted by the wonderful Sarah) (What was that Mr Froome, you want to enter D-Grade?), Handicapper Shane McGuirk (Take those bandages off, you’re fooling nobody), Marshalling Roster Vito Depetro (Have I got a deal for YOU!!), Race Permits Jason Southby (Purveyor of the Pandora’s box that is Race Permits). (Just to name a few!)
The Club would like to thank everyone for the enormous contribution they make to the club so that members can enjoy great competitive and social racing all year round. (Phil and his two brooms and 3 wind blowers included!)
Importantly, we have had a significant increase in members this calendar year with many new riders joining the FCC, including a significant number of women. We welcome them and hope they enjoy racing with us. Our crit numbers especially were very healthy!
Financially, the club is in a stronger position in 2018 than it was in 2017, and we are currently working with Wyndham Council to get the FCC a permanent Crit Track and Clubhouse built. And lastly, our wonderful Members, who stand up and dig in, do their duties and help where they can; we are part of a great community of like-minded lunatics who all do their bit and more.
All in all, the Footscray Cycling Club is in great shape and we have a bright future ahead of us!
-Mark Micallef, Secretary.

Posted in headlines.